Perfectionism Strikes Again

Standard

Chanting the first
fourteen yoga sutras
every day
practicing, enjoying learning.

I decided to record myself chanting
so that my fellow teachers who are in my training
can practice and enjoy.

And then my recordings weren’t perfect–
far from it.

I would make one mistake and then delete the whole thing.
I did this for about two hours
and realizing I was exhausted,
I gave up.

But there is hope.
Tomorrow is another day.
Maybe tomorrow I’ll record a better version,
or I might have enough compassion for myself
to allow my recording to be imperfect.

Maybe tomorrow I’ll love myself a little more,
maybe I’ll allow myself to be human.

4 responses »

  1. I completely understand where you’re coming from – I’d want that sort of recording to be perfect too. Sometimes goodenough is goodenough, sometimes it’s not. Well done for recognising you were too tired and giving yourself a break. You’ll probably hit it first time today!

    • Thanks for the encouragement! Today isn’t the day, alas! I wasn’t able to get to my writing until late, and now I have no energy. Hopefully tomorrow the stars with align and I can make the recording fluidly.

    • One of my goals is to love myself a little bit more each day. Thinking this way helps me to glide a little more easily through the moments of disappointment or disgust for the choices I’ve made. My perspective shifts. I’m ready to just be with myself and with this life.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

