Bring Your Gifts

Standard

What are you offering this holiday season?
What is it that you want to give, to share?

Beyond the gifts that are purchased in a store,
which of your personal gifts are you bringing to the table?

Before you rush out and get caught
in the writhing sea of maddened shoppers,
can you tune into the treasures within,
and move from this awareness?

The world does not need more jewelry
or toys or electronics–
it asks you to dig deeper
and find your peacefulness,
your patience,
your contentment,
no farther away from you than your own heart.

Whenever you meet another soul on the path
Stand in awe of your journey,
and for God’s sake,
bring your real gifts.

6 responses »

  1. Love this! My situation is such that I don’t exchange gifts with anyone, which was always so nerve-wracking. Now I can just enjoy the festive mood, the music, and the decorations (despite the dead mouse I found in with some of my ornaments)!

    • That sounds nice…simplifying, enjoying the people and all the other wonders of the season. Gift giving can be such a source of stress. I’m making things, which is fun, so it’s a win-win.

      • Oh, homemade gifts are so nice! What are you making? One year my sister made sand candles and I loved it. I used to do batik and sometimes made scarves for friends and family, also water colors one year, I remember. I’m not inclined that way these days, but it was great fun at the time.

      • I’m making eye pillows, bath salts, and body butter (made from almond oil, coconut oil, cocoa butter, beeswax, vitamin e oil, avocado oil, rose hip seed oil, and essential oils of lavender and frankincense). All yummy things to help everybody take time for themselves and relax! You’re one talented lady! Batik and watercolors? Good for you!

      • I figure something made with my own two hands means a lot more than something I bought just to have something to give. Hopefully the gifts will be put to good use!

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

