Popsicle Stick Meditation

Standard

Sitting down to write
so late at night
or so early in the morning
depending on how you look at it.

Why?
you might ask…

I was painting popsicle sticks.

Why on earth were you painting popsicle sticks? you might ask…

I’m teaching a craft
to my four year old daughter’s
preschool class tomorrow
and popsicle sticks
form the frame of the ornament we’re making.

I also sorted glittery pompoms,
cut cardboard,
portioned out glittering plastic gems
hot glued ribbons on the back of the ornaments.

It was 10 o’clock when I began
and was amazed to discover
that the clock said 1:45
when I had finished packing everything up.

How time did fly!
I was reminded of how
truly spacious this moment is
and how quickly time passes
when you become fully absorbed
in doing something you love.

Tonight my meditation
was painting popsicle sticks,
but it could’ve just as easily been
washing the dishes
or folding laundry,
writing in my journal,
brushing my hair…

When you become absorbed
in the moment
the result is always the same–
remembering the peace
at the center of being
remembering the joy
that is your natural state.

Let’s make all of it
all of it
a meditation.
let’s see what happens then.

*******************************
Popsicle Stick Rudolph Ornament

Popsicle Stick Christmas Tree ornament

2 responses »

    • Recognizing the sacredness of every moment–that’s how I see my job as a yoga teacher–and to help my students experience the sacredness of this moment. Ahh, breathing, sacredness.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

