Which do You Choose?

Standard

Most New Year’s resolutions
come from a thought
like this one:
There is something 
wrong with me
that I need to fix.

With our negative self talk,
we obscure the light of our awareness
like clouds obscure the sun from our eyes

Instead of a resolution,
how about a Sankalpa?

Sankalpa
is a vow and a
commitment
we make to support
our highest truth.

We discover our sankalpa
in our yoga practice
when we quiet our minds
and become absorbed
in  a state of pure being,
we remember our deepest selves

in this relaxed state,
we listen,
and discover
our heartfelt desires
A sankalpa
proclaims this:
I am that
which I am seeking.
I can relax
as I awaken
to my true nature.

Which do you choose, my friend?

10 responses »

  1. Hey Lorien, I’m going to be so bold as to assume it’s okay–because I’d like to publish. I promise I’ll remove it if you wish me to, but I hope you’ll be pleased. Thank you, and happy new year.

  2. I hadn’t heard of a sankalpa–I love it! What a great way to start the new year. Sorry I haven’t been around, but I was laid low by flu-like symptoms the day after Christmas and am nowhere near back to normal, but doing better. It may be more of a detox than a flu, which would be a great thing (in the long run, now, not so much). I’ll stop by as I can. I wish you and your family a wonderful 2015!

    • Poor Willow, I think we had the flu in tandem. I missed an entire week of yoga teaching because I was so ill, lost my voice, it was simply awful…and yet, I had more time with my family, so there were some gems hidden in the muck. Wishing you a very happy new year, full of contentment, joy and peace. And thank you from the bottom of my heart for your presence here this year. You have been one of the major reasons I have returned to my writing day after day–to see your kind words, to hear your insights, what gifts you have given to me. Thank you friend, thank you.

      • Hi Lorien, I’m still feeling lousy–this is definitely a detox (from putting something in my home to neutralize EMFs), so now my body has the energy to throw off lots of old stuff–wonderful in theory, grueling in practice 🙂 I’ll be back when I can. You’re so welcome for my responses too your posts–I get so much from them! Someday I’ll be back and catch up. My most loving best wishes for you and your family.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

