And Then I Taught Yoga

Standard

I awoke tired and in a funk
mind swarmed with visions
of every horror that I have experienced
or was recounted to me this past week

Meditation was difficult
tired mind didn’t want to focus
I felt drowsy, I wanted to lie down

And then it was time to go to work.
I felt anxious,
mistrustful of the drivers on the road,
in light of recent experiences.
I was afraid I wouldn’t be calm enough
for my students,
calm enough to feel whole inside myself.

And then I taught yoga,
and all my personal stories melted away
in the presence of the Universal Teacher
who steps into my body
who speaks through my mouth
who reaches out with my hands
when it is time to welcome the Students.
No more Lorien,
just Teacher, ready for my beloved Students.

They came to me,
twenty-seven souls looking for union
twenty-seven body-minds finding
rhythm in their breath and movement

Today for some reason
I didn’t want to fill
all of the silence with the sound of my voice.

Today for some reason
I welcomed the silence,
saw it as a precious gift
that I wanted to offer to everyone.

I wanted to offer them space,
space for being
space for homecoming.

And because I left spaces
in between the sounds
and found stillness
in the midst of movement
I could hear
and I could see
and I could feel
this incredible connection
with the souls
who were there with me in the room

I thank God for the honor
of being present
to my fellow human beings in this way
the gift it is
to bear witness
to their tender unfolding
their delicate transformation
the trusting leaps they make
as they dance on the fine line of oneness
stretched across the abyss of duality.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

