I Breathed

Standard

This morning
as I sat in stillness and listened,
I received these instructions
from my Teachers:

Breathe in,
Welcome the moment as it is,
Breathe out,
release expectations.
When you can let go of your ideas 
of how things should be,
you have space in your mind
to enjoy them as they are.

So today I was reminding myself,
Breathing in, I accept this moment as it is.
Breathing out, I let go of expectations.

Breathing in, I welcome this moment with open arms
breathing out, I feel gratitude for what is

Breathing in, I feel love in this moment, exactly as it is,
breathing out, I express this love in my thoughts, words and deeds.

And you know what?
I remembered to breathe!
And you know what else?
It felt pretty darn good!

It helped me to relax
when I felt hurried to get out the door
and was on the verge of expressed irritability
because my kids were moving so slowly.

But I did not yell.

Instead I said aloud:

Breathing in, I welcome this moment as it is,
Breathing out, I let go of expectations.

I breathed.

They watched me breathe and were curious.
They heard me repeat the words and grew silent.
I slowed down, let my shoulders drop away from my ears.
They took a deep breath with me;
we all relaxed and enjoyed the drive
to meet my mom for lunch.

I might just go pat myself on the back now.

4 responses »

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

