Where I Need to Be

Standard

Are you adept at staying calm
during challenges?
How do you respond to stress?
Do you explode with frustration
or internalize
or withdraw…

Or perhaps you are you in tune with your feelings,
able to ask for help getting your needs met?

Years of meditation,
of practicing and teaching yoga asana
and I am still not as consistently patient
as I would like to be.

I have not changed my mental patterns
as profoundly as I was hoping.

BUT

I choose to evolve
through the power of self love and honoring.

This means that if
NOW,
in this one moment,
I can stop,
take a deep breath
and wait before
I think, act, or speak,

Then I have arrived where I need to be.

And this means also that if
NOW,
in this one moment,
I can’t stop,
I forget to breathe
I fly off the handle
and think, act, or speak compulsively,

Then I have arrived where I need to be.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

