It’s All Good

Standard

I want to write something inspiring
about how to remain peaceful
in the midst of change.

When I share that I’m moving,
I’m met with sympathetic expressions
and head nods
and often
“Yeah, moving is one of the most stressful experiences.”

I am a meditator.
I said to myself
It doesn’t have to be stressful.
I vowed to make it a point to stay calm
through this time.

And I want to write something inspiring
about how I have carried
the deep peace I find in meditation
out into the world,
out into my daily life,
how I have breathed deeply
and remained centered
during this moving process.

But I have two young children,
a husband who doesn’t meditate,
an old cat who wakes us up
multiple times every night
caterwauling at the top of his lungs.

I have lots of stuff that still needs to be packed,
hopes that we’ll all find what we’re looking for,
And I have fear
that letting go will hurt in some way.

I haven’t been calm the whole time.
I have raging PMS
and I’m sleep deprived.
I have yelled at my kids.
I stomped until the hardwood floors
creaked
and maybe the foundation shook a little.

I’m human.
I won’t try to inspire you,
I’m not feeling inspired.
But maybe I can share with you
this humanness,
my neuroses,
my hopes,
my fears,
my shortcomings.

If you’re a perfectionist like I am,
you might find some relief
in knowing that you’re not the only one.
Maybe for one instant
you’ll relax a little,
you might give yourself a break.

I can share with you this humanness
and maybe through sharing,
we can see together that it’s all good.

2 responses »

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

