NaPoWriMo 2015 Day 4: I’ll Keep Him

Standard

I found the post with  yesterday’s NaPoWriMo prompt.  Write a poem about love without all the moonbeams and roses, don’t use the word “Love” anywhere.  Here goes.

I had hoped it would be romantic.
I had hoped he would look into my eyes
and know what I was thinking.

I thought he would meditate with me,
play music,
create art,
write,
climb,
hike,
massage my shoulders just right.

I thought he would complete me in some way,
and that we would be soulmates forever.

Then I grew up a little more,
and different qualities
emerged in plain sight
out of my new reality.

A good worker.
A devoted father.
A caring son.
A kind friend.
A merciless big brother.
A practical provider.
A default bed warmer.
A co-conspirator
in the art of keeping house.
A fun uncle,
A prankster,
A laugher at the absurdity of life,
A strong-willed,
stubborn,
no nonsense,
dig in his heels
honest finance juggler,
A persistent go-getter,
a life partner.

Of all my friends,
there is none better-suited
to dealing with my caprices–
he is a dragon conqueror.

Sometimes he’s a knucklehead,
but he’s my knucklehead.
I think I’ll keep him.

7 responses »

  1. LOVE your new photo, Lorien! It caught my eye just now next to one of your kind comments. Beautiful. And LOVE your loving tribute here–replete with humor :). xo

    • Thank you Chloe! I was ready for a change. And glad you saw the humor in the post too. I never know who is going to get me…and I’m so appreciative that you do. ❤

  2. BTW, I just read this out to my husband and he said “He sounds fab, I like him!”. Every single point rings true for my man too except he’s the younger brother not the older one. He may not be spiritually minded but he keeps me grounded and laughing.

    • Well, that does it then–we’ll all have to meet up some day so that our husbands can be BFF’s and we can be BFF’s too…a BFF fest for all! 😀 It’s so good to see you here; I’ve missed you. How are you these days? Also, can you email me your mailing address at my yoga email: lorien@lorienyoga.com ? I have something for you. 🙂 ❤

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

