NaPoWriMo 2015 Day 17: Social Media Friend

Standard

Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt brings social media into the poetry equation:

…try to write a “social media”-style poem. Namecheck all of your friends. Quote from their texts, tweets, FB status updates, twitter accounts, and blogposts, and the back of the cereal box on your breakfast table. The poem is about you and you are about what you say, think, talk, eat. You might end up with a poem that seems bizarrely solipsistic (like the internet itself, maybe?), but there might also be a spark there of something live and fun and present (like the verbal equivalent of a really great animated cat .gif).

You know, sounds like fun…sort of…but like the terzanelle I contemplated last night, the social media just ain’t happening tonight.  I spend very little of my time on Twitter, FaceBook and Instagram.  Something about potty training, laundry, teaching yoga, cooking meals, and making time to bathe myself every so often–I don’t know, call me crazy, but the social media just doesn’t fall very high on my priority queue.

Anyway, social media or not, I write a poem every day, and it’s time.
-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-

I would quote one of your tweets, friend,
but I haven’t been on twitter for several moons.
I would post something on your wall,
I would hashtag your name
I would like all of your pictures on Instagram, friend,
but my son just had a pee accident
and my daughter needs a second dose of cough syrup.
I know I’m missing a lot of fun,
all of those viral YouTube videos
and the memes
and the latest news on HuffPo,
but dang it,
the kids need to eat again,
and I haven’t brushed my hair yet today.
And plus, you live far away.
I’ve never met you,
but you know what I look like.
What does “friend” mean anyway?

3 responses »

    • Well thank you! It’s funny what we call a friend these days…FaceBook friends, Instagram friends…how many of us have real life flesh and blood friends any more? Thanks for reading! 🙂 ❤

  1. Pingback: Vimala — The Love Affair Continues. | Maxine Spence's Blog

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

