NaPoWriMo 2015 Day 21: Wisdom is Burning

Standard

Here’s the prompt for today over at NaPoWriMo.net.  It presents an “erasure” poem, in which words are eliminated from a text to create a poem.  I wracked my brains trying to figure out from which kind of text I’d like to extract a poem…hmmm.

And then I went downstairs to one of my bookshelves and sifted through some books for a few minutes until I came across Paramahansa Yoganada’s little pocket-sized book entitled Metaphysical Meditations.  I found a page that struck my fancy, and I created an erasure poem.  

Here is the original:

on worldly pleasures

 

And here is the poem I created by importing the photo into the Sketchbook app, trying to find a “paint” that matched the color of the page, and then “painting” over the words I wanted to erase.  I love technology.  I didn’t have to find a photocopier to reproduce the image,  I didn’t use any paper and I didn’t have to break out any White Out (or breathe in any fumes).  Winning!

erasure poem

Wisdom is burning.
I am flame.
All cherished ambitions
ancient passions
dreams
are consumed by
my own blaze.
I am myself.
I am no longer a slave.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

