NaPoWriMo 2015 Day 28: Spinning Rainbow Bridges

Standard

In Baltimore things are pretty hot
even as winter holds on
driving fingers of cold
into the hearts of young flowers wanting to take root

When I think of the desperation
that drives the people in my city
to senseless violence
I wonder on the next breath
How can I help?

Today, like every other day,
I take a seat, close my eyes,
wait and listen.

Today, like every other day,
I acknowledge the basic goodness
of all beings,
and I silently repeat the phrases of metta:

May you be free from danger,
May you have mental happiness
May you have physical happiness,
May you have ease of well-being

As I repeat these phrases,
I spin a million zillion rainbow bridges from my heart
to the hearts of everyone,
sending waves of harmony, peace,
happiness to all beings.

If you aren’t already a spinner of
rainbow bridges,
it is simple to begin.
And please begin.
This world has need of your light.

Take a seat, close your eyes,
wait and listen.
You might feel the bridges that have been extended to you
since before the beginning of time.
You might start spinning your own
rainbow bridges now.

-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-

Over at NaPoWriMo.net today the prompt suggested we write about bridges.

6 responses »

      • Well, I suppose the possibilities are infinite. But I also love Metta mediation. Learned from a good friend and yoga teacher. May you be filled with loving kindness. May you be well. May you be peaceful and at ease. May you be happy.

        Love and Light to you!

      • Ah yes, metta, that is such a good one. I was teaching on Ahimsa (non-violence) the week before last, and we finished class with metta meditation. We repeated “May you be happy, maybe you be healthy, maybe you be peaceful and at ease.” The exact phrases don’t matter, just the intention behind them. I felt myself so moved by the earnestness in the room as we sat. And it was so timely, too, given what has been happening around Baltimore, which is where I teach all of my classes.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

