Be More Kind to the Self Who Waits

Standard

For those of you
who live at the mercy
of your inner critic–
Have you ever stopped
to take a good look
at the things you say to yourself
and the thoughts you believe?
Would you ever permit yourself
to say such things to someone else?
What if, before accepting as true
one of those largely unconscious
self-deprecating beliefs
you asked yourself,
Would I say that to someone I love?
Would I say that to my child?
My beloved pet?
My mentor?
My neighbor?

My friend?
If the answer is No
why, dear one,
why would you ever say such a thing to yourself?
Let’s clean up our self-talk.
Let’s be more kind
to the self who waits for our awakening.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

