The Four Limitless Qualities

Standard

The four limitless qualities:
lovingkindness
compassion
joy
equanimity
all exist within us,
however imperceptible they may be
at present.
The trick is to cultivate these qualities,
and discover how we serve ourselves best
when we are living in the service of others.
Out of our own heads,
knowing freedom from our own neuroses,
we can stop telling
all of the imagined stories of lack and limitation,
to come back home to this spacious present
and delight in the joy
of helping someone else to
know their own joy.

13 responses »

  1. Lovely.
    Hey, I set my blog on private. I tried to send an invitation but the email didn’t go through. If you don’t get an invite, email me. ❤ I will try to find the correct email. I just needed to be a little bit quiet while I write. I got a few not so nice words and I just needed to be quiet. All is well. ❤

    • Thanks for stopping by Elysha! Those little dramas of ours are so enticing that it’s easy to get enmeshed with them. It’s a really big deal when we can see that this has happened and then turn our attention on someone else. Let’s pat ourselves on the back when we’re able to do THAT! ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. Hi Lorien, it’s been a bit of a dark time. I have found some answers and some potential peace reading this and your lovingkindess posts. I have some work to do, wish me luck….

    • Good luck Theresa, I know you can do it! I responded to the email you sent me, in case you haven’t seen it already. Big hugs to you…and deep breaths.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

