Compassion Practice

Standard

When I summon true compassion,
I do not come to you as healer,
but as your equal.
Only when I know my own darkness and pain
can I begin to know yours.
As I breathe in,
my heart stretches large enough
to hold all that needs to be held there,
and as I breathe out,
I send the aspiration
that all beings may be free of suffering
and the root of suffering.
I cannot fix you or this world.
I cannot make the pain stop.
But I can open my heart to this moment
and breathe.
May I be free of suffering
and the root of suffering.
May you be free of suffering
and the root of suffering.
May we be free of suffering
and the root of suffering.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

