Breakfast Buffet Mantra Meditation

Standard

It was going to happen
before everyone woke up.
Either I’d walk to the beach

and sit facing the ocean sunrise

or I’d sit on the balcony,

right outside our room,

but By God I told myself

I am going to sit.

And then my kids woke each other up

stealing blankets, 

kicking one another,

shrieking in the middle of the night.

Four times this happened last night.

So as Dawn made her golden appearance

although my eyes perceived the sign

and my soul was eager to answer

my body and mind were exhausted

and so I simply turned over.

No morning sit.

I borrowed my daughter’s tulsi mala,

sat at the breakfast table with my family

in a crowded restaurant

everyone chowing down 

on the breakfast buffet…

And while my left hand wielded a fork,

spearing honeydew, cantaloupe, and watermelon,

my right hand sat under the table on my knee,

moving bead after bead between my fingers 

silently chanting 

Yeshe Walmo’s protector mantram 108 times.

In an imperfect world 

I must come to realize that no circumstances

are perfect. 

When attempting to maintain

a meditation practice on vacation 

I must come to realize

that a breakfast buffet

mantra meditation 

night be all the meditation I will have in the day.

So let every bead count.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

