This Moment of Being Human

Standard

The towns and countryside that the traveler sees through a train window do not slow down the train, nor does the train affect them.  Neither disturbs the other.  This is how you should see the thoughts that pass through your mind when you meditate.

–Dilgo Khyentse Rinpoche

 

This is thinking.
And then I breathe again.
I might be aware of my breath
for half of an inhalation
before another thought jumps in.
This is thinking.
And then I return my awareness
to breathing.
I allow my out breath
to dissolve out into space
and I allow my in-breath to arrive easily.
Maybe I can keep
my awareness on my breathing
for one or two complete cycles
and then my mind is off again
somewhere back in the past
or on a different continent altogether.
But I can sense there is something different now,
that some shift has taken place
since the first times I sat four years ago.
Now I’m not trying to get better at this.
Now I’m not trying to fix myself
or cajole or pummel my mind into submission.
This is thinking.
It’s so simple.
I don’t need to feel guilty or ashamed
for not being better than I am right now.
Finally, a place where I can be free
of my perfectionism
and my unconscious neuroses…
just sitting and breathing
and returning my attention to my breath
when my mind wanders.
I can relax into this moment.
This moment of breathing,
thinking,
this moment of being human.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

