I Never Knew Such Freedom

Standard

I never knew such freedom existed
until it began to slowly dawn on me
that beating myself up
for not being perfect
wasn’t going to help,
that feeling disappointed
for not being better
was not going to motivate me,
that trying to fix my faults
through some kind of effort
wasn’t going to yield
the results I sought.
So I gave up all hope
of self-improvement,
and I began to focus
on all the things
big and small
for which I am grateful.
And as the gratitude
bubbled up in my heart
I realized
I am human.
I can relax.
My imperfections
connect me with all humans.
I don’t need to reach
some destination
before I can feel
justified in being kind to myself.
I never knew such freedom existed
until I relaxed
into the person I am right now.

4 responses »

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

