My Salvation

Standard

I take a deep breath
and I let the thoughts come
I never know what will happen
the words appear across the page.
Sometimes there is fury, rage,
sometimes unexpected joy.
Sometimes a weight is lifted,
and I can keep my peace in silence
Others the fire is stoked
and a patient friend listens
as I unleash what was articulated
as I took the time
to transform raw emotion
into something I could share
in a code we both know.
I thank God every day
for my writing practice.
It is my lifeline,
my path back home,
it is the reason I know myself so well,
and a way to know more deeply.
It is my hidden treasure
and it is nothing special.
I don’t write for others,
I write for my own salvation.

2 responses »

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

