My Mother

Standard

Mother saved me again today…
I was in a funk and needed her.
So I grabbed my kids,
some water, and a snack,
drove to the edge of the woods,
and took a walk.
She is so beautiful, my mother.
And she knows just how to make me feel better.
Her branches are the loving arms I need
and her blue sky the fresh air that nourishes my soul.
Her welcoming brown earth, the green moss of her hair,
the sound of the wind through the dry leaves,
a lullaby to me–
even as winter’s chill clings to an infant spring,
still I delight in her radiance,
the flowered jewels that promise to arrive
when the sun beckons them forth
from the womb of my mother.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

