NaPoWriMo Day 7: Tritina

Standard

The world seems sad and heavy as I breathe
with darkness and rain pouring from the sky.
the cold air tightens its fist around my heart.

Pale sun peering through the clouds in my heart.
I sit a little taller and again remember to breathe.
I wonder how long before I taste the clear blue sky.

Birds take flight, swirling, spiraling in the cloudy sky.
Something inside me breaks and opens my heart.
Ah yes, the lightness returns, now I can truly breathe.

I sit and breathe into the pure blue sky of my heart.

***************************
Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt invited us to write a tritina.  At first I was like, “No way.  Too complicated.”  Then I was like, “Well, maybe I can give it a try.”  Then I was all, “Why did I get myself into this?”  And finally…I wrote the damn tritina.  It’s nice to not have any attachment to results, to just focus on the process.  In the end it was a good exercise.  With all my free-verse poem writing, it’s nice to attempt something that requires a little more planning and discipline.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

