NaPoWriMo Day 8: The Most Precious Flower

Standard

You cannot see it,
but it is the most beautiful flower of all.
Cannot smell it
but it exudes the most precious fragrance.
Cannot hold it
because it holds you.
Cannot taste it
but its flavor is everywhere.
This flower never withers and dies
but expands exponentially
for all of time
I wonder…
when I am old and withering
what will the flower
of my consciousness
be like?
How bright will it shine?
And how far will its petals reach
across the hearts and minds
of my fellow humans?
And what splendors will the garden
of this consciousness hold?

*****************
Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt asked us to write about a flower. I love flowers and couldn’t pick just one and attempt to do it justice.  So I went for a metaphorical flower instead.  The flowering of human consciousness is a beautiful story to me.

One response »

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 8 – “Vulnerable Delight” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

