NaPoWriMo Day 9: A Confessional

Standard

I’m human.
I have lots of faults and idiosyncrasies.
I do weird stuff sometimes.
I mess up a lot.
I’m a chronic procrastinator
and I get whiny (inside my head)
when I need to take care of household chores.
I’m afraid I won’t be as successful
as my critical mind tells me I need to be
in order to be happy.
I’m afraid I won’t ever escape the stories
of my critical mind.
Sometimes I think I don’t set
a good enough example for my children
or my yoga students.
After all of this honesty,
what could I tell you that I’m afraid to say?
I’m tired and nothing comes to mind, I’m afraid.
Maybe I’ll save that for another day.

 

************
As I mentioned in my poem, I have trouble with procrastination.  I waited until the last moment to write this post, and now I’m too tired to dredge up a line that scares me to write, as the NaPoWriMo prompt for today suggested.  Ah, whateva, whateva, I do what I want, I do what I want.

3 responses »

  1. A chronic procrastinator who has somehow managed to post an insightful,thought provoking blog post (or even more remarkably a poem!) every single day for years, hmmm….??! It is just not possible to do it all, friend. Can we have a poem that celebrates your successes sometime please?;-)

    • Ah, you are so kind, dear Theresa. Thanks for the reminder that I could be celebrating a little more. I’ll do my best to honor your request. 🙂 ❤

  2. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 9 – “Every Dawn You’re Surprising” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

