NaPoWriMo Day 13: Fortune Cookie Poem

Standard

There was a period of my life during which keeping each and every fortune from my fortune cookies–and those of other people’s cookies–was something I just HAD to do. I collected them in a sandwich bag and saved them for a journal project.  I think I might have gotten out a glue stick one day and started gluing fortunes wherever there was blank space in my journals.  Wait. Who am I kidding?  I still do this.  My husband thinks I’m nuts, so I’ll wait for him to take my son to the bathroom after dinner is over and then I’ll scoop the fortunes off the table and slip them into my wallet; the hubby is none the wiser and I don’t have to explain why my obsession is completely normal. Covert operation. Shhhh.

Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt caused a little eruption of my self-diagnosed mild OCD…because I couldn’t remember where I had glued any of the fortunes I kept over the years, and it has been a while since we have been to a Chinese restaurant.  But then I remembered THE INTERNET, and Google searched “fortune cookie images”…and found this gem:

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 8.59.40 PM

Now granted, this would be perfect if only the grammar were correct.  If you don’t know what I mean, then check out this post by Grammar Girl.  I love her.

Anyway…now for a poem with the above sentiment as my inspiration…

***************************

When the world feels heavy on your shoulders
and your body is tense and tight
when your heart rate has increased
preparing you for fight or flight–
sometimes you just need
to lie on the floor.
Get a few blankets, a bolster,
an eye pillow and a few minutes,
and just lie down, right there on the floor.
Play some soft music
and diffuse some
(100% pure,
fair trade, certified organic,
ethically sourced, biodynamic,
therapeutic grade)
essential oil of lavender…
Roll up a blanket and place it under your neck,
roll up another and place that one under your knees,
and just lie down.
Put your eye pillow over your eyes,
stretch out and breathe.
When it seems like the whole world
has gone insane
and you don’t want to join
in that crazy game…
just lie down and breathe friend,
just lie down and breathe.

 

5 responses »

  1. Love the poem and thanks for the Grammar Girl link! Fascinating stuff! On another note, I am in awe of you writing these poems everyday, it’s a tough challenge but you’re smashing it!

  2. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 13 -“Let Your Passions Take Your Breath Away” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

