NaPoWriMo Day 16: Almanac Question

Standard

The trouble with beginning so late at night is the fact of my willpower being depleted during the day…and so I’m left with very little energy to be creative. Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt gave us an “almanac questionnaire” and asked us to write a poem based on or incorporating one or more elements from the questionnaire. I copied the questionnaire and then pasted it into a Pages document…filled it out in no time, and then looked at my eclectic mix of answers wondering where the poem was in all of that mess. Out of the whole questionnaire, what felt the best was writing about the flora…so maybe I should focus there.

*******************
If you were to ask me
where I’d most like to be,
I’d say
In a forest surrounded by
ferns, moss, rocks,Β 
cedar, pine, oak and redwood,
wading into aΒ lovely broad stream
flowing over smooth rocks.
The day is clear and bright,
cloudless blue skies, about 70 degrees,
and there is a delicious breeze
stirring the ferns, making them whisper.
Do you see why I could never be a city girl?

8 responses »

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

