NaPoWriMo Day 26: The Perfect Response

Standard

It’s time to wake up.
Om mani padme hum.

What will I eat for breakfast?
Om mani padme hum.

What shall I wear to work?
Om mani padme hum.

I am afraid about my evaluation.
Om mani padme hum.

I don’t know what to do.
Om mani padme hum.

That person just cut me off in traffic.
Om mani padme hum.

I’m bored.
Om mani padme hum.

I just got promoted.
Om mani padme hum.

I found out my mother is sick.
Om mani padme hum.

I can’t believe he said that.
Om mani padme hum.

I wish I had a bigger salary.
Om mani padme hum.

I feel nervous about my presentation.
Om mani padme hum.

I feel depressed. What have I done with my life?
Om mani padme hum.

I just won five million dollars!
Om mani padme hum.

I’m late to work.
Om mani padme hum.

My kids are driving me crazy.
Om mani padme hum.

I have to cook dinner.
Om mani padme hum.

I’m tired.
Om mani padme hum.

I’m so happy!
Om mani padme hum.

I’m a human being.
Om mani padme hum.

It’s time for bed.
Om mani padme hum.

*****************

Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt encouraged us to write a call and response poem. My mantram immediately jumped into my head. Here is one page devoted to explaining the background and meaning of the mantram. Here is a wikipedia article on the mantram. I also have deep love and respect for the teacher Eknath Easwaran; it was his writing that inspired me to take up the mantram when I was in high school and interested in learning about meditation.  Something about the look and the sound of the mantram very much appealed to me. It is said that repeating a mantram over and over again drives its energy and its meaning deep into your subconscious and little by little transforms the habitual, recycled, discursive thoughts into expansive, enlightened ones. I just know that the practice of mantram repetition has saved me from a lot of needless worrying and ruminating.  And therefore it is, to me, the perfect response to any thought and any situation. Om mani padme hum.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

