NaPoWriMo Day 28: Long Lines

Standard

For today’s NaPoWriMo prompt we were encouraged to write a poem with long lines. We were given Whitman as an example; I took a look at his “Song of Myself” and discovered his lines were twenty syllables long.  The Irish poet Ciaran Carson was also mentioned. He takes his inspiration in part from the seventeen syllable haiku and strives to make each line clear, simple and concise like a haiku… Wow, okay…hmmm.  Long lines, huh?  I think I can do this.

**************

It is Spring, almost May, and chilly
for a spring day–
and so I wore a sweater.

The morning dark, early the skies were gray
and continued this way
up until noon.

I sighed in dismay, and shivered
watching the trees sway
against the somber spring sky.

But then I watched my sun
run the ball, laughing at play
delightful noise and chaos.

In spite  of the cold mind-mood
spring weather I can stay
and call this moment precious.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

