Becoming

Standard

For the longest time
I thought I was in the process
of becoming
Becoming more successful,
more wealthy,
more knowledgeable,
more capable…
Becoming more happy,
more healthy,
more personable,
more creative.
And then I realized…
it’s not so much a process of acquiring
new wealth or new skills,
collecting certain experiences,
increasing my knowledge base
and endearing myself to more and more people–
it’s more a peeling away of all the old beliefs
that kept me locked into
the prison of conditioned existence.
It is not about holding on to the image
of the person I think I need to become…
it is a process of letting go,
clearing the way
for me to fully be the person I have always been.

2 responses »

  1. Indeed. I think we’ve all become so used to living in such unhealthy ways, it feels strange and new to take it all back to basics and just be, or it has to me anyway. Less striving, more being. Less worrying, more accepting. That’s not to say it’s easy to break the habits of a lifetime of unhelpful thoughts – oh that it was! I guess I’ll have to just keep on practising… Thanks for the post.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

