Tasty Independence Day

Standard

Home made basil ice cream
and freshly baked Swiss roll with lemon curd
A tasty way to celebrate my freedom
with friends and family
on a rainy Independence Day.
Children hooping and hollering
looping around the house–
who needs fireworks?
There is plenty of noise here.
At the end of the day
comfortable in my bed
I’m grateful for the freedom to rest,
the gift of being safe in my home,
of having a home.
The gift of having choice
in the way I live my life,
of having a life.
Grateful to have the taste of happiness
resting sweetly on my lips,
seeing all of it
all of it
as a gift.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

