This Is It

Standard

I sat in the forest today.
I saw countless insects
making their way along the forest floor.
An industrious lady bug
clambered from leaf to leaf.
Ants kept finding me
and I kept brushing them away.
Sure, I was supposed to be still
but I didn’t want to be bitten.
Birdsong rang out now and again
echoing lightly from the trees.
Sometimes the sun shone on me
full force and I felt hot.
Others the breeze blew
as the sun hid behind clouds
and I felt cool and comfortable.
I tried to stay still
but my body grew tired.
I fidgeted and glanced
at the remaining time.
I looked to the trees,
the forest grass
the mossy stumps
for some kind of answer;
there was none.
Only this moment.
This moment is the answer.
This is it.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

