Everyday Creativity

Standard

As I start to believe
in the goodness of life,
I experience great wonder
at every little thing that comes my way.
Conversations about possibilities
that raise the hair on my arms,
a feeling of excitement for what can be.
A good cup of coffee I didn’t have to make,
handed to me by one of my family,
looking up at the mountains
and the blue sky,
enjoying a moment to write and to think.
As I let go of my rigid expectations
for how it is all supposed to play out,
there is so much more wiggle room
to enjoy this moment as it is.
And as it dawns on me
that I can seize little moments to be creative,
each day is another chance
to express the best that is within me.
A doodle here, a row of knitting there,
a funny little dance while folding laundry,
singing while I empty the dishwasher,
a poem a day, formless, without rules,
and creativity becomes normal
and essential, like my lifeblood,
like my beating heart, like my breath,
like the air that I breathe–
and I am grateful.

4 responses »

  1. A poem so full of grace–love it! Especially:

    “…and creativity becomes normal
    and essential, like my lifeblood,
    like my beating heart, like my breath,
    like the air that I breathe–
    and I am grateful.

    Thank you for the inspiration of your expansive humanity. xx

    • Thank you for being here and resonating with these words. Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. Thank you for being marvelous you!

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

