Self-Compassion Break

Standard

I took a self-compassion break today
and was surprised to note
that I had been trying to talk myself out
of feeling sad about something
that happened last year.
The voices inside of my head were telling me
There is nothing you can do,
so get over it.
You think you have problems?
What about the people in war torn countries?
And so I would end up feeling guilty
for letting myself feel sad over this thing
that was bothering me,
and so I never let myself feel sad.
Angry, yes.
Frustrated, yes.
Complaining, yes.
But never sad,
the sad I needed to feel to grieve and let go.
And then self-compassion stepped in
and held space for me to feel the familiar feeling
of suffering as I remembered what had happened.
There was a sweetness that bloomed
as I didn’t fight myself
but let myself feel what I was feeling.
I looked at the sadness, acknowledged it,
and I relaxed. I felt more spacious.
I held myself with kindness and care.
Thank you Kristin Neff for all the work you have done
to alleviate the suffering of all beings.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

