Surely There is a Way

Standard

Surely there is a way to relax
in the midst of these life challenges.
Surely there is a way to soften
so that I don’t exhaust myself
trying so hard all of the time.
Surely there is a way to be gentler,
more accepting of the human that I am.
Surely there is a way to open my heart
to my own suffering,
to meet it tenderly, with warmth and kindness.
I suppose this is the path I must take:
I know surely that there is a way,
and now I only need to find it.

3 responses »

  1. Yes I believe there is. When I am being hard on myself, I always ask myself what I would do for the one I love the most if he or she felt the same way and was in a similar situation, then I try to approach myself with the same kindness πŸ’–πŸ˜Š. Sometimes it also helps to look at a picture of yourself when you were a small child and talk to that little girl as though she was the one suffering from the sadness. πŸ’–. It is sometimes easier to love oneself as a little innocent child. πŸ’–πŸ˜Š

    • This is the essence of the self-compassion practice! I’m teaching a workshop on self-compassion this weekend, and one of the main ideas is that we give ourselves the same kindness, care, and concern that we would offer a good friend. A picture of oneself as a little child is a wonderful idea as well. I have one tucked away somewhere that I have turned to for just such a purpose before, but it has been a long time. Hopefully I can find it! ❀

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

