The Voice of Compassion

Standard

I’m here preparing my workshop
on self-compassion.
It’s late, nearly 12:30 am.
I can hear the inner critic say,
There you go again,
leaving everything to the last minute.
When will you learn?
When will you grow up?
It shakes its head and clucks about…
meanwhile I take a deep breath
and give myself compassion…
Compassion for the girl
who works so hard to please others,
Compassion for the teacher
who wants so much to help others,
Compassion for the artist
who wants to express her creativity,
Compassion for the tired mama
who does so much for so many
every day…
Now the compassionate one says,
Go to bed darling,
you need rest.
And I’m glad I have this practice,
glad that I can hear that voice,
the voice of compassion.

10 responses »

  1. 🙂
    Sometimes the best preparing is just finding that voice… It flows and others pick up on it it seems more than other kinds of being prepared. But we do that too because we care to share all we can.
    Sending loving thoughts xxxxx

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

