Dark Thoughts Just Before Bed

Standard

Swirling thoughts
tired body
recipe for dark imaginings.
Should I go to sleep
before I cook any up?
The kids have been asleep for some time now
and I finally have some quiet…
I could write, I could sew,
I could draw, I could knitβ€”
but what good is creative space
when you have no energy to create?
Balance seems like a fantasy
when every day ends with such fatigue.
After a while, hope runs thin,
and thoughts of morning
bring no solace.
Ah, it’s getting darker by the minute.
Maybe I should’ve gone to sleep
before I wrote this.

***********************
Not like my usual poems that include at least a few warm fuzzy bits..but oh well…this is how I feel, and I’m keeping it real.

10 responses »

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

