In Awe of the Ordinary

Standard

As I open my eyes and look around
I see so many reasons to be grateful.
My hands on the steering wheel–
I have hands,
I have a car,
I can drive.
This road will lead
to where I’m going;
it’s amazing that this road was built,
asphalt stretching over so many miles
that I may travel quickly and easily.
The simple things
can bring us great pleasure
if we can become fully absorbed in them,
fall in love with them,
full of rapture,
in awe of the perfectly ordinary
nature of our lives.

2 responses »

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

