Grateful Awareness

Standard

I notice I’m thinking
and it’s a relief.
Now I’m not caught
in the thought any more.
Now I’m free.
I notice a thought
that could lead to great unhappiness
if I were to believe it.
I choose not to.
With my mind free
of these unhappy thoughts,
it’s clear enough to perceive
how wonderful this moment is.
I look around,
notice I can walk,
notice there is food;
I can hear laughing and talking.
All at once I feel incredibly grateful
for all of the teachers
who have made this moment possible,
who have opened my eyes,
who will open them again
if need be.

2 responses »

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

