The Gift of the Broom

Standard

And then it occurred to me
that it’s true, the old saying
about happiness being
a simple matter of
one’s attitude…
Take, for example,
earlier today when I was sweeping the floor.
I found myself in a negativity spiral,
tired, hormonal, not really wanting
to clean up a mess that other people made.
And then it hit me…
My eyes can see the crumbs,
the dried grains of rice,
the cat hair,
the tiny styrofoam balls
that scurry every which way.
My hands can hold the broom,
they know how to move it
to bring all these particles together.
Someone taught me how to do this

long ago, and my mind remembers.
I have a floor to sweep,
in a comfortable house that is mine,
a house that I share with a husband
and two beautiful children.
And suddenly,
I enjoyed the feel of the broom handle,
its smoothness and coolness,
the swish swish
as it moved across the floor.
I enjoyed watching the floor
miraculously become cleaner, brighter,
magic by my own hands.
Yes, attitude really is everything.
Now for the toilets!

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

