Dreaming Awake, Just Before Bed

Standard

My fatigue
wraps its hands around me
and pulls me to the land of sleep.
I teeter on the edge
wanting a little more of me
before I succumb
to the storylines of strange dreams.
There was a time
when I was so well-versed
in my own dream patterns
that I had some choice in the matter,
but not now.
Now I am at the mercy
of my subconscious mind
as it winds its way
through the experiences of my day
and chooses what to stretch
and fabricate,
which fears to tease out
and which absurdities
to weave through the fabric
of this self that sleeps and dreams
both day and night.
There is a kind of sleep
that unfolds with eyes open–
And some dreams bypass sleep completely
as we walk around “awake” yet in a trance.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

