Nothing But Here

Standard

Throughout the day
I’d catch myself in thought–
shock, disbelief, anxiety
for the future.
Then I’d wake myself up,
realize I was here in my home,
safe and warm.
I ate a lunch of grilled cheese
and tomato soup,
I sewed a flannel nightgown for my mom,
fabric printed with
I love Grandma
repeated hundreds of times.
I’d be there sewing
happily along
and the thoughts would come,
and again the shock, the disbelief,
and the anxiety…
and again I’d wake myself up
to reality…
Just here now,
no problem
to be solved,
no worry,
no fear.
When all is said and done,
it’s better right here.
When all is said and done,
there is nothing but here.

3 responses »

  1. I love this, thank you. Sewing yesterday sounds like the perfect antidote. Even across the pond the ripples are felt – you have our sympathies! Life throws challenges at us and although I am practicising just being in the present, it can be very hard Work – thanks for the reminders though.

    • Thank you my dear for being here and for offering your kind words. Sewing helped today too. All I can do is take this moment as it is and see what can be done…to breathe and wash the dishes, and pick up the socks…and sew. Today I worked on an apron made from Thanksgiving themed fabric. It’s a lovely meditation, staring at fabric printed with the words “Thankful, Grateful, Blessed…”

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

