Christmas Light Meditation

Standard

I put up the rest of the Christmas lights today,
took time arranging and rearranging them,
imagined others seeing them
and enjoying their cheerful colors.
My hands became cold and I went inside
periodically to warm up.
I thought about what a luxury it is
to string up these lights
and I wondered if it’s completely insane
to use electricity to power them.
I felt grateful for the warmth of my home
and how it took the sting of cold away,
and my heart ached for those who have no home
to go home to.
I wondered how they survive the night
when it’s cold like this,
what it must feel like to know they have no shelter.
As I peer deeper into ordinary moments
I see this enormous opportunity
to be more awake, more aware.
May I awaken for the benefit of all beings.
May my life energy help end the suffering
of all beings.

2 responses »

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

