Mindfulness at the Symphony

Standard

I went to the symphony
with my mom and sister tonight.
I again practiced retaining awareness of myself
instead of becoming so caught up
that I forgot where I was and who I am.
It was interesting to note my likes and dislikes,
to sit in the seat of witness
and watch my beliefs
about what kinds of music
were appropriate for Christmas.
I see now that each moment
is an opportunity for mindfulness.
Even simple things
like sitting and listening to music
have so much to teach me
when I view them through
an alert, stable mind.
I see the ripples
of craving and aversion.
The witness self
sits still and observes.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

