Musings on New Year’s Eve

Standard

Ever since I can remember
I’ve mused about
how this particular time
has been made so special
by our species.
In the rest of the animal kingdom
creatures are going about their lives
just as they always have.
What do they care of
numbers on a clock,
numbers on a calendar?
Everything takes on the importance
that we assign to it.
Without the name “New Year”
this day would be as humble
as any other day.
A part of me feels amused
at all of the hullabaloo
we’ve made of the whole thing–
expensive dinners, champagne,
fireworks, masses of humans
waiting for a gigantic ball to drop…
And simultaneously
I cannot help
but let myself become swept up
in the current of excitement
over the New Year.
And so tonight I sat.
I chanted for all beings to find peace.
I imagined the planet
enveloped in lovingkindness,
the planet spinning
within my own heart.
Breathing in, I welcomed the whole universe,
breathing out I dissolved into space.
This normal, humble moment,
made extraordinary
by the importance we’ve assigned to it.

2 responses »

  1. Happy New Year, Lorien! It does seem odd that we have given so much significance to one day but last night my husband and I stood outside in the cold with snow falling and thousands of people we don’t know doing the same and it was magical. I think when we can come together in the spirit of goodwill and joyful anticipation that is what makes the moment extraordinary.
    Thanks for your thought provoking post πŸ™‚

    • Hello Mary, I love your beautiful comment, thank you…the image of you standing in the snow with your husband and thousands of others–wow! And yes, when people come together in the spirit of goodwill it’s energizing and wonderful and very powerful, so I see your point. I’m laughing at my introversion right now–it can hamper my ability to see why being in big groups of people can be a positive thing! So it’s good that you were there to gently remind me of the power of a unified group. Smiling. Grateful. Thanks again. πŸ™‚ ❀ πŸ˜€ ❀

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

