Feeling Funky

Standard

I’m feeling funky
without any real reason.
I’m on vacation in paradise.
My family is here.
I had a good dinner.
Why am I feeling this way?
It must be my thinking.
Could it be I’m having
an unexamined thought
that is making me crazy?
It has something to do
with wanting connection,
wanting to feel seen, heard, understood,
longing to feel like I can relate,
longing to experience that my needs are important
in the eyes of others.
Also this could be PMS.
Yay.

 

Note: Every once in a while it feels appropriate to write about the difficulties I experience in my inner world.  One of the most common characteristics of depression is the belief that we are alone in this, we are the only ones in the world feeling this.  When I write about the challenges I have with my mood, it is not to garner sympathy or to make anyone feel sorry for me.  It is for those out there who are experiencing the same thing as I and who might benefit from learning that they aren’t alone in their suffering.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

