The Right Person

Standard

I want him to understand me.
Do I understand myself?
Do I understand him?
I want him to hear me.
Do I hear myself?
Do I hear him?
I want him to see me.
Do I see myself?
Do I see him?
Very quickly
one argument
snowballs into
a story of unmet needs
and doomed relationship.
If I can take a step back
and look in objectively,
there isn’t a problem.
Just two tired people
trying to make a shared life
raising young children
work somehow.
May I apply the balm of compassion.
May I remember what is true.
May I do the work inside,
and be the one I’ve been waiting for–
the one who understands, hears,
and sees me as I really am.
When I come to this place
of genuine self love,
I’ll stop asking
if I’m with the right person.
When I’m right with myself,
everyone else
is alright with me.

6 responses »

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

