Can You Afford Not To?

Standard

Finally the house is quiet.
The day’s frantic energy settles
into the stillness of night
and I can sit in peace.
I light a candle,
take my seat.
It feels like I’ve come home.
I wonder who else
in this world
is meditating
in exactly this same moment.
I picture us all sitting,
candles lit,
quiet, breathing,
many of us,
spanning the globe.
When I picture the world
in this way,
I feel hopeful for our future.
It may be a small offering
but it’s one I make every day.
Who knows what fruits
a lifetime of sitting will bear?
I like to imagine
I’m contributing to peace
on this planet.
I like to imagine
that when enough of us
sit and find peace
within ourselves
even for just a minute
even for just a second
we will eventually reach
a critical mass…
and we will see
a global healing take place.
Would you like to join in
this movement
of peacemaking and
light bringing?
Can you afford not to?

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

