Knowing Myself

Standard

If I keep trying so hard to be good,
when will I ever come to the point
that I actually see myself as good
and relax a little
with who I really am?
I could spend my whole life
trying to be good
and reach the end of it
unconvinced.
Is this any way to live?
How about, instead of trying so hard,
I simply sit still and observe?
What if I could see the thoughts
behind my attempts
at self-improvement?
What if I questioned those thoughts,
and saw myself as I am,
this being,
knowing myself in this present moment?

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

