Mind Shift

Standard

Oh god. More laundry?
I’m so tired of spending my time
taking care of all these clothes.
I’m practically buried
in the mountains of laundry my children
and husband create.
I’m so sick of this.

I wish I didn’t have to do this.
But wait a minute.
Does this story help me to be happy?
No.
This story helps me to feel put upon and resentful.
So how can I reframe it?
Wow. I get to do laundry!
I have a wonderful washer
that cleans my clothes
and a wonderful dryer
that dries them.
I am so fortunate.
I have two hands and ten fingers
capable of folding each shirt crisply,
and strong arms
that can carry the full basket
up the stairs.
I have a home and two beautiful children.
Here are the clothes they wear.
I’m so grateful I have these healthy children,
so glad I can keep them in clean, dry clothes.
I have a husband.
Here are his clothes.
He wears them to work.
He works hard
so that our family
can live in this comfortable home
and eat good food
and have a fulfilling life.
We are so incredibly fortunate.
The difference in my experience of life
as I shift from the first story to the second
is so profound
I can feel it in my heart, my body,
my eyes full of emotion.
There now,

that’s better, isn’t it?
Does this story help you
to be happier, more peaceful,
more open, more generous?
Yes.
This is the power of changing one’s story,
of reframing the situation,
of shifting one’s mindset.
I have a lot of work to do,
but I’m grateful, so grateful
to have the tools to do it.

3 responses »

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

