NaPoWriMo 2017 Day 4: The Need for Lovingkindness

Standard

Last August
I taught my students lovingkindness meditation,
explaining the stages of metta:
offering to self,
then to a loved one,
then to a neutral person,
and then to someone toward whom
you feel aversion.
While we were meditating
I mused that I couldn’t
really find anyone toward whom
I felt aversion.
And then I remembered
a person so ridiculous,
so crass, so pompous,
I thought,
Ah yes! This person will work.
I’ll send metta to them.
I smiled as I sent lovingkindness their way,
feeling safe and secure
in my belief
that there was no way this person
could ever affect me or my life.
And then November came,
and a huge upset,
in the morning I found myself
checking and rechecking
to see if I was hallucinating
or if this was reality,
a reality
that left me reeling, crying,
in misbelief, in mourning.
I still can’t believe it’s real,
that this crass, pompous,
ridiculous person
could actually be where they are,
doing what they are doing.
And now when I meditate,
the aversion is more real,
and therefore so is the need for metta.

****************
Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt caused me to stretch a bit. I suppose that for many of you, there were be no question about to whom I’m referring–my words will not be so enigmatic because so many feel just as I do. So perhaps this poem is really a shout out to all of my fellow wayfarers to let you know–you are not alone!

2 responses »

  1. I like this … you took me right into my own yoga class … and now I should go stretch as my sciatica is returning – argh X

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

