NaPoWriMo 2017 Day 11: Grateful For It All

Standard

It’s easy to look back
and see what wasn’t so great about today;
it takes discipline to look back
and recall moments of grace.
At first I might feel guilty
being so preoccupied with negativity
but then I remember that I’m human,
my brain is wired for survival,
this is simply the way things are.
And so I keep a journal.
Every night I write a list
of what made me feel grateful
throughout the day.
Sometimes I draw a blank
and need to really search
to find the answers to the question,
Why am I grateful today?
I end up writing something
seemingly mundane;
but I remember
This is my life.
I can be grateful for it all.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

